APJ Abdul Kalam - Missile Man of India

APJ Abdul Kalam was an Indian scientist and administrator. He was the eleventh President of the Republic of India. He was born in the fishing village of Dhanushkodi on the island of Rameswaram in Palk Strait in Tamil Nadu. His father rented boats to fishermen. Kalam visited the university as the first member of his family.

He studied Aerospace Engineering at the Madras Institute of Technology. He applied in the Indian Air Force but was unsuccessful. Through the DRDO, Kalam joined the Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) in 1963. He worked for almost 20 years on various projects, including the construction of the SLV-3. It carried the first Indian satellite into space in 1980.

In 1982, Kalam got entrusted with the management of the missile program as the director of the DRDO. In the following years, five major projects got initiated. The results became the synonym for a new Indian self-awareness. Nag, Prithvi, Akash, Trishul, and Agni are the creations of the father of the Indian missile program.

Kalam was instrumental in the development of carrier systems for nuclear weapons. In November 1999, Prime Minister Vajpayee made Kalam the government's top science adviser.

In 2002, Kalam got elected as the new President of the Republic of India. As a president, he also gained sympathy throughout the country. In his public appearances, he demonstrated patriotism. He was jovial and communicative.

His followers revered Kalam because of his boundless patriotism. His visions were ambitious, for example, he wanted to lead India into the G8 by 2020. Kalam was the author of several influential and inspirational books. It provided an action plan to transform India into a superpower of knowledge. His other books include Ignited Minds and Wings of Fire.

Abdul Kalam died on July 27, 2015, after collapsing during a speech in Shillong. Abdul Kalam got awarded the honorary doctorate by more than 30 universities. He got awarded the three highest Indian civilian awards. He got the Padma Bhushan in 1981, the Padma Vibhushan in 1990 and the Bharat Ratna in 1997.