Skip to main content

IPL 2017

IPL cheerleaders hot images wallpapers

The Indian Premier League or IPL is a cricket league founded in 2008 by the BCCI with 8 teams of Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Daredevils, Deccan Chargers, Kings XI Punjab, Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians, Rajasthan Royals and Royal Challengers Bangalore. The matches of the competitions that is organized annually are in Twenty20 format. Eight franchises compete for the title in the first edition of the IPL in 2008. Two new teams were added during the fourth season in 2011.

BCCI announced the creation of the IPL on September 13, 2007. In January 2008, the cities where the franchises and their owners are based were announced. BCCI announced that it had sold the eight franchises at auction and has cashed the total amount of 723.59 million USD. The Mumbai Indians franchise was sold at the highest price, for 111.9 million USD.

On 20 February of the same year, seventy-seven international or former international cricketers from India, Australia, West Indies, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, New Zealand and South Africa were auctioned from the eight franchises. The franchise that offered the highest bid for a player engaged him in their teams. Five Indian players, also called icon players were assigned automatically to the franchise representing the capital of their state of origin and were guaranteed to get 15% more than the second highest paid player on their team.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni signed the biggest contracts of the league with 1.5 million USD per year for a month and a half of competition. A second round of bids was held on 11 March, allowing twenty-eight players, including fourteen from the India Under-19 team, allocated to the franchises, but bids do not exceed above the 300,000 USD annually. The International stars were allocated through auctions, while the young Indian players were distributed via a draft system.

From 2008 to 2010, eight franchises compete initially in a single pool. Each team plays two games against each of the other seven. At the end of this phase, the semi-finals are confronted by the top-ranked franchise and the fourth on the one hand and the second and third on the other. The final between the two winners is the fifty-ninth and final game of the season, which lasts between six and seven weeks. As of 2017, there are 8 franchises that compete for the title.

Eight franchises participated in the IPL in 2008, at its inception. Two new teams were added in 2010, for the first time in 2011, who were however removed lated. The Kochi Tuskers Kerala were excluded from the league in 2011, the Deccan Chargers the following year, which came back later as Sunrisers Hyderabad. Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings were replaced in 2016 amidst match fixing scandal by its owners and replaced by Rising Pune Supergiants and Gujarat Lions. As of 2017, there are 8 franchises that compete for the title.

In 2008, the first eight franchises of the IPL were purchased by companies and also by Bollywood stars. Their total sale yielded 723.59 million USD to BCCI. The two additional franchises for the 2011 season were sold each for more than 300 million USD.

BCCI announced that 80% of the television rights it would receive for the 2008 and 2009 seasons would be redistributed to franchises. This proportion has gradually decreased to 70% in 2010 and 2011 and 60% in the following five years and 50% for the following years. The distribution of these redistributed sums is made at 20% according to the sports results of the franchises, the remainder being divided equally between the franchises.

On 3 April 2008, the IPL issued instructions to foreign media, stating in particular that no photograph taken during the competition can be published on a website as a company in North America has acquired the exclusive publishing contract for 50 million USD. In addition, the IPL grants the right to free use of all photographs taken by news agencies.

The instructions were revised a few days later, after protests by certain media groups. The IPL will require the use of only a few photographs. The websites of print publications are authorized to publish a few photos for illustration purposes. Sites specializing in cricket will not have accreditation for the games, and news agencies do not have the right to sell their images to these sites. Given the impossibility to distribute the photos to sites that specialize in cricket, the world's major news agencies, including Reuters, the AP and the AFP, announced that they are boycotting that season.


Popular posts from this blog

Egg Curry Recipe

Egg curry in India is known as Anda Curry that is a very simple recipe and is very popular with children. Perfect for lovers of hardboiled eggs, the spicy curry enhances the flavor. In this dish, the hard-boiled eggs are stir fried and then added to a sauce. It is served over steamed rice in India. Eggs can be added to any type of sauce you like. In this instructable I have shown how to make it with peas and tomato sauce.

This week I propose a curry eggs, a dish I wanted to replicate for some time after I had tasted the homemade version prepared by a friend. When I announced that dinner was planned with a curry of eggs it unexpectedly cause generalized reactions of astonishment. And so I realized that it has taken for granted that everyone to know that there are several varieties of curry, not only as regards the main ingredient, but also for the combination of spices and flavor to be obtained. So I decided to make a brief discussion on the curry to have some clarity on the subject.

An Italian Meal with my friend at Da Mauro

As I walked down the street, distracted by my thoughts and my memories, the smell from a nearby pizza shop invaded my senses and immediately my mind was transported to a recent visit to an expat friend's house. My friend, John lives in Central Park Resorts at the heart of Gurgaon. I'm not a huge fan of Gurgaon given the dusty roads, pollution, bad traffic and civic sense, but Central Park Resorts is another world in itself - an ample green environment with the usual facilities like amphitheatre, gym, spa, kids play area etc. But two things really caught my eye - the town-ship is automobile free and golf buggies are used to commute on surface. That sounds downright futuristic and something only the millionaires could afford, right? But there it was, right in front of my eyes in Gurgaon! Well, the future is really here I guess.

But what really got to me is the second thing - something situated inside the Central Park Resorts township. Read on:

As John and I planned to discuss t…

Mysore Pak Recipe

The Mysore Pak is an Indian dessert originating in the state of Karnataka in southern India, but it is widely consumed throughout peninsular India and especially Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh and Kerala. There are 2 ways to prepare it, soft or more solid, with generous amounts of melted butter or ghee, chickpea flour and sugar. Of course people prepare these delicacies especially for the feast of Diwali, the festival of lights.

The mysore pak was originally known as masoor pak, and was made with masoor dal flour. The exact origin of the recipe is unknown, although some claim that it was created in or near the Mysore Palace by a cook raised in the Kakasura Madappa. Its history dates back to, probably sometime in the 17th or 18th century Mysore, where during the reign of King Krishna Raja Wadiyar IV, the recipe was invented in the kitchens of the palace by the chef Kakasura Madappa. Having no idea for his creation, Madappa decided to call the recipe Mysore Pak, which means in Sanskrit and…