Test Cricket

Wednesday, June 03, 2015

Cricket is a sport born in England and later spread in the countries that were colonies of the British Empire, and that the rules ostriche for the uninitiated, and they considered generically similar to baseball which historically they have developed in evolution nineteenth century in the United States. Today is a sport much later than that in Great Britain, South Africa and in Australia, in some Asian countries such as Pakistan, Sri Lanka and India.

You can play in different forms, and in the more traditional test cricket matches can last up to five days in length this had led to a sharp decline in viewers, especially in recent years, so that the international federation has long been looking for ways to reform the test cricket and remedy the decline in interest.

The different forms of today's cricket matches are differentiated on the basis of the number and duration of game phases: the longest and traditionally important is precisely the cricket test and the name comes from the fact that the games are a test for the ability and the strength of the teams. Here are the matches consist of four innings or offensive two phases for each team, with an unlimited number of over for each pitcher: an over is a set of six launches valid, beyond which the pitcher must be substitute by a fellow team. The meetings last between three and five days, from morning to evening, with two long interruptions in the course of each day and the other shorter.

The chance to play test cricket is granted by the International Cricket Council (ICC) were the only full members of the Federation full members. Today, ten national have this status, and the last one to get it was the Bangladesh in 2000. Australia, Bangladesh, India, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Zimbabwe, plus a team formed by the fifteen islands that were, or are British rule, the West Indian cricket team. Zimbabwe had auto five years ago because of his poor performance in the meetings, but intends to return to compete in test cricket in 2011.

Beginning in the sixties were introduced other forms of cricket, even to suit the needs of entertainment and television, in which the length of matches is greatly reduced by intervening on the number of over each match (for these forms it speaks of limited overs cricket. The one that has had great success in recent years is the Twenty20 (T20), which is played since 2003, in which each team is granted only twenty overs, after which the game ends. With this formula, the meetings last about three hours, and can then be played in the evenings. Many of the best players give up playing Test cricket matches in favor of the less demanding and much more remunerated Twenty20 matches.

Another form of success is the One Day International (ODI), restricted to international matches, where over fifty are. You play the seventies and is the format of the World Cup of cricket.

The new formulas have some positives that have ensured the success becomes more clearly identify the strongest team while in test cricket there is only a complex system of ranking, easier and less challenging to follow the games. But on the other hand, the test cricket is the most traditional soul of the sport, where matches are less aggressive and spirited than other contemporary sports (not for nothing that the cricket is also known as the sport of gentlemen and the same ODI and T20.

Finding a solution to revitalize the test cricket, the ICC, is not simple. In 2013 will be held in England the World Test Championship, during which the four national teams with the highest ranking currently India, South Africa, England and Sri Lanka will face off for the first time in order to determine who is the champion of official test cricket. However, there are some problems to be solved before then the presence ODI and other formulas would create several world champions in contemporary art, and above all there is the fact that many test cricket matches ending in a draw.

One idea is to advance, in the event of a tie, the team with the higher ranking, but this would encourage the strongest team in a boring defensive tactics. Another is to completely abolish the time limit for the final and continue until one team wins, but as he tells the Wall Street Journal , the last previous with this arrangement dates back to 1949 and is not very encouraging: England he was in South Africa and at the end of nine days of play, when the game was still tied, he had to leave the meeting to take a ship to return home.

According to the American newspaper, however, there is only one way to solve the problem change the times at which the games are played Test cricket, moving them in the late afternoon and in the evening so that the public should not take a day off from work to follow in the stadiums.

Share this

If you want to be in touch with him to know him more or to say a little hello, feel free to mail him at travtasy@gmail.com

Related Posts

Next Post »